Tags

, , , ,

My average everyday prayer goes something like this:

Father, protect ME today. Help ME to do my best…blah blah…Me…me…me…I…

Amen.

Sound familiar?

I hope your prayers are more outward focused than mine, but if not there is hope for those of us who are intercession challenged.

Jesus provides a great model for prayer in the “Lord’s Prayer”. Many of us know it. We have recited it in unison many times. Have we prayed it with a sincere, vulnerable, broken heart? Alone? Most of us have not.

Today when you pray, focus on others and do not pray a single thing for yourself. Let’s use the model Jesus provided to get started.

Matthew 6:9-13 HCSB

“Therefore, you should pray like this:

Our Father in heaven,

Your name be honored as holy.

Your kingdom come.

Your will be done

on earth as it is in heaven.

Give us today our daily bread.

And forgive us our debts,

as we also have forgiven our debtors.

And do not bring us into temptation,

but deliver us from the evil one.

For Yours is the kingdom and the power

and the glory forever. Amen.”

