Tags

, , ,

Let’s Write a Short Story by Joe Bunting. Click to purchase the book.

I have an announcement to make. Drum roll, please…

I’m going to write a fictional short story!

Why? I’m tired of all these characters and plots bouncing around in my head. I want to finally get them on paper. I’m tired of dreaming about being a great writer, yet making little to no efforts to get better. I want to get published, but I need to get better.

If you are serious about writing, you should write a short story, too. Regardless of the genre of writing you are interested in, writing a short story will enrich your writing. Where do you begin if you have no idea where to begin?

I’m right there with you. I love “writing” stories in my head, but structuring them for the page is difficult for me. Thankfully, Joe Bunting just released his book Let’s Write a Short Story. Bunting provides an easy to follow, thorough guide to writing and submitting short stories for publication. In one afternoon, you’ll be ready to get those great ideas on paper.

Honestly, I was a little skeptical before I began reading. I haven’t taken a writing class in a long time. Senior English was years ago. I thought the book might be for more experienced writers, not newbies like me. I thought short stories are good for some writers, but not me. I’m glad I kept reading.

Forgot the difference between alliteration and onomatopoeia? Bunting’s got you covered. He also covers overcoming writer’s block, plot structure, characterization…you name it, it’s probably there. Not sure what to write? Bunting also includes several writing prompts to help you get started.  Whether you ultimately want to write children’s books, sci-fi novels, or magazine articles writing short stories will give you a great foundation and may even help you get published faster.

So, what are you waiting for? Let’s write a short story!

Question: Are there great characters or creative plots bouncing around in your head, waiting to come to life? Are you going to write a short story? If you do, please post the link in the comments and let your readers know about Joe’s book!

