Tags

, , ,

Paulina Sergeeva (Creative Commons)

I was wrong. There, I said it.

I hate admitting when I’m wrong, but when I hold onto being right it haunts me until I can’t take it anymore.

A few months ago I forgot the power of words. I hurt a friend. I didn’t intend to, but I did. I could make excuses about how I was justified in what I was trying to say. I could tell you she just misunderstood me. Maybe all that is true. However, deep down, I know my words were hurtful.

Part of me still wanted to tell her to just get over it.  She was the one in the wrong. She had no right to be angry at me. Despite my frustration, I decided I would ask for her forgiveness. It all started on social media, so I sent a private message. I knew it was not right to hash things out with all our friends watching.  I admitted I should not have said what I did and sincerely asked for her forgiveness.

She never responded.

A few days ago, she brought up the issue again on social media. Seriously? Did we really have to hash this out again? I apologized. I asked for forgiveness. What more could I do? I considered writing to her again. Did my previous message get lost? Not likely. I thought maybe somehow I could force her to accept my apology. I was wrong again. I decided to just let it go.

Maybe in time my friend will choose to forgive me. She may not. That’s okay. I know I did the right thing. I faced my discomfort and admitted I was wrong. Romans 12:18 reminded me to live at peace with her as much as possible and helped me realize I would get nowhere by exploding at her or calling her a “b”.  It’s not my battle to fight and judging her heart is not my job.

“Don’t hit back; discover beauty in everyone. If you’ve got it in you, get along with everybody. Don’t insist on getting even; that’s not for you to do. “I’ll do the judging,” says God. “I’ll take care of it.” -Romans 12:18 (The Message)

How would you respond? Have you ever been in this situation? How did you respond?

