Tags

, , ,

Every summer at least one person asks me if I enjoy getting to sit around and do nothing for two months. Yes, I do enjoy it. Although I do work on classroom stuff throughout the summer and attend trainings, the summer leaves me free to pursue whatever I fancy. This summer I decided to pursue my dream of writing. Here’s what I’ve learned.
1. Be yourself. This is an uphill battle.

“To be nobody but yourself in a world which is doing its best, night and day, to make you everybody else, means to fight the hardest battle which any human being can fight; and never stop fighting.” e.e. cummings

2. Serve others. Serving others is what it’s all about.
3. Take advice. Preferably, from someone successful.

4. Don’t take advice. If they have not experienced success or offer a quick route to success, run!

5. Spend as little $ as possible. Prioritize what you really need. There are a lot of things people will try to sell you that you don’t need yet.

6. Comparison will kill your dream. Keep going and stop looking around at what everyone else is doing.

7. Be a friend to make friends. Be the first to reach out to someone.

8. Write what you know. Mark Twain did.

9. Pray. This one is very easy to forget, but probably the most important. Without wisdom and guidance you will just spin around in circles trying to figure out where you are going.

10. Be professional. Professionalism makes up for lack of experience.

If I could add an 11th, I would also tell you to never, ever give up. I’ve considered giving up many times this summer. I keep going because I know I’ll never know what might happen if I quit. Quitting is a way to ensure your dream will never come true.

What are you doing to pursue your dream? What have you learned along the way?

