Tags

, , ,

“You’re next!”

“You never know what God’s plan is!”

“This will be you soon!”

“I’m praying you’ll be next!”

Phrases the childless hear at baby showers.

What if I’m not sure I want to be next? What if I’m not ready? What if it isn’t God’s plan for me?

What if it’s a struggle and it doesn’t happen soon? I’m not here to talk about me.

“Are you trying yet?”

What if we have been trying for years? It’s personal.

For so many women baby showers are bittersweet. She’s happy for others, but the pain of her own longing for a child stings each time she hears another friend is expecting. Maybe her dream came true only to be torn from her too soon. Maybe her little one is waiting for her years and thousands of miles away. Maybe she never had children of her own, yet Mothers many. For whatever reason, maybe she’s not ready yet.

Let’s take the focus off who is next and focus on celebrating who is expecting now. Let’s lift up and encourage all the women who desperately long to be called Mom.

What do you think? Should we be more sensitive? What questions have you been asked?


